# AI visibility tools with an MCP server: a 2026 comparison of 30 vendors

28 of the 30 AI visibility vendors checked on 2026-10-09 document a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server, the open standard that lets AI assistants such as Claude and ChatGPT read data from other software. With an MCP server integration, an AI search visibility platform's tracking data can be read from inside the assistant. 23 run it only as a hosted service, and 3 publish the server code under an open-source license. Each row below links the vendor's own MCP server documentation and the day it was read.

Updated 2026-10-09

Method: every cell comes from the vendor's own documentation, help center, pricing page or official repository. Vendors are listed alphabetically, not ranked. Prices are in the [AI visibility tool pricing table](https://limelit.co/compare/ai-visibility-tools).

## At a glance

| Vendor | Runs as | Open source | Sign-in | Read on |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Ahrefs | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| AIclicks | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| AmICited | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Analyze AI | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Asva AI | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| AthenaHQ | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Ayzeo | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Cituna | hosted and local | Yes, MIT | Browser sign-in, or API token | 2026-10-09 |
| Cognizo | hosted | Not stated | Account sign-in, or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Foglift | hosted and local | Yes, MIT (local package only) | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Gauge | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Geoptie | hosted | Not stated | API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Goodie | not stated | Not stated | OAuth | 2026-10-09 |
| LightSite | hosted | Not stated | Account sign-in | 2026-10-09 |
| LLM Pulse | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| MaxAEO | local | Yes, MIT | None (runs locally) | 2026-10-09 |
| Otterly.AI | hosted | Not stated | OAuth | 2026-10-09 |
| Peec AI | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Profound | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| RadarKit | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Rank Prompt | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Rankscale | hosted | Not stated | OAuth | 2026-10-09 |
| Scrunch | hosted | Not stated | OAuth | 2026-10-09 |
| SE Ranking | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Searchable | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Semrush | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Trakkr | hosted and local | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |
| Visiblie | hosted | Not stated | OAuth or API key | 2026-10-09 |

Checked and no MCP server documented on the pages read: LLMrefs (2026-10-09) and Evertune (2026-10-09). 23 of the 28 name OAuth, a standard that lets a person approve access in a browser without sharing a password.

## Each MCP server, from its own documentation

### Ahrefs

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Desktop/Web, Claude Mobile, Claude Code, Copilot Studio, ChatGPT Web, Lovable, n8n, Manus, Mistral's Le Chat, OpenClaw

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Site Explorer, Keywords Explorer, SERP, Rank Tracker, Site Audit, Brand Radar (domain/URL and entity level), Web Analytics, GSC, social, account management.

Plan

Paid plans from Lite; uses the plan's API units

[Ahrefs MCP documentation](https://docs.ahrefs.com/en/mcp/docs/introduction), read 2026-10-09

### AIclicks

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Web, Claude Desktop, Claude Code CLI, Cursor, Other clients

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility, mentions, citability and citation time series, citations, brand rankings, competitors, ChatGPT ads, sentiment, GA4 LLM traffic; writes add prompts, competitors, domains.

Plan

Pro and Business

[AIclicks MCP documentation](https://docs.aiclicks.io/mcp-introduction), read 2026-10-09

### AmICited

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (web and Desktop), Claude Code, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code, Codex

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility data, reports, prompts, domains, competitors, organic search, paid ads, content and more; writes add prompts, generate articles, log annotations.

Plan

Free trial, Pro, Premium and Enterprise; not Starter

[AmICited MCP documentation](https://www.amicited.com/docs/mcp/connect/), read 2026-10-09

### Analyze AI

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (web, desktop, mobile), ChatGPT, Claude Code, Cursor & IDE agents, Agent frameworks (MCP SDKs, mcp-remote), Automation platforms (n8n and similar)

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

25+ ready-made analyses: share of voice, visibility movers, competitor gaps, sentiment, citation quality, source authority, perception map, evidence; optional prompt management.

Plan

Growth

[Analyze AI MCP documentation](https://www.tryanalyze.ai/docs/mcp/overview), read 2026-10-09

### Asva AI

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Web & Desktop, Claude Code (CLI), Cursor, VS Code (Copilot agent mode), Windsurf, ChatGPT (custom connector / developer mode), Any other MCP client

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Mention rate, share of voice, competitors, leaderboard, platform and regional breakdowns, sentiment, citations, ChatGPT Shopping, prompts and responses; audit and llms.txt writers.

Plan

Not stated

[Asva AI MCP documentation](https://asvaai.com/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### AthenaHQ

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude.ai, ChatGPT, Optimizely Opal, Claude Code, other MCP clients

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Share of voice, citation and mention rates, rankings, cited sources, prompts and responses, content, knowledge base, pitches, site diagnostics; plus write tools.

Plan

Not stated

[AthenaHQ MCP documentation](https://docs.athenahq.ai/api-reference/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Ayzeo

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

claude.ai and Claude Desktop, Claude Code CLI, ChatGPT (developer mode)

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Projects, site analysis, citation/mention stats, GEO playbook, prompts and runs, citation sources, URL health, GSC opportunities, GA4 AI traffic, content generation.

Plan

Pro and Enterprise, trials included

Its pricing page also names Cursor and Gemini; its help page says Cursor, Windsurf and Gemini CLI are not supported yet.

[Ayzeo MCP documentation](https://ayzeo.com/help/using-ayzeo/mcp-server), read 2026-10-09

### Cituna

Runs as

Hosted and local

Open source

Yes, MIT: [github.com/Cituna/cituna-mcp](https://github.com/Cituna/cituna-mcp)

Setup documented for

Claude (custom connector: web, mobile, Desktop, Code), Claude Code (npm), Claude Desktop (npm)

Sign-in

Browser sign-in, or API token

What it exposes

Tracking grid across seven engines, engine answers, cited pages, audits, fix-queue gaps, keywords, Search Console analyses; Pro writes run scans, edit prompts, queue articles.

Plan

Every paid plan; write tools need Pro; not in the free trial

[Cituna MCP documentation](https://cituna.com/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Cognizo

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (web, desktop, mobile, Cowork), Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code, Windsurf, ChatGPT

Sign-in

Account sign-in, or API key

What it exposes

Brands, metrics, topics, prompts, regions, citations, competitors, ChatGPT ads and advertisers, opportunities, Content Studio; 23 tools write data.

Plan

Every plan

[Cognizo MCP documentation](https://docs.cognizo.ai/mcp/overview), read 2026-10-09

### Foglift

Runs as

Hosted and local

Open source

Yes, MIT (local package only): [github.com/banant2/foglift-mcp](https://github.com/banant2/foglift-mcp)

Setup documented for

Claude, ChatGPT, VS Code, Codex, Gemini, Cursor (local npm), Windsurf (local npm)

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Technical audits, AI visibility checks and history, prompts, models, sentiment, referrer and crawler analytics, competitors, source gaps, GSC, recommendations, content briefs, recipes.

Plan

The vendor's pages differ

[Foglift MCP documentation](https://foglift.io/integrations/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Gauge

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Code, Codex, Claude.ai

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

AI visibility and citations, prompts, SEO/keyword data, GA4, Search Console, PostHog, Google/OpenAI Ads, content pipeline to CMS, memory, skills, Action Center, Ask Gauge.

Plan

Growth and Enterprise

[Gauge MCP documentation](https://docs.withgauge.com/help/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Geoptie

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Code, Cursor, Codex, Any other client

Sign-in

API key

What it exposes

Visibility and share of voice, prompts, full engine answers, citations, competitors, topics, recommendations, page audits, content generation and optimization.

Plan

Professional and Enterprise

[Geoptie MCP documentation](https://geoptie.com/docs/mcp/introduction), read 2026-10-09

### Goodie

Runs as

Not stated

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Not named in setup steps

Sign-in

OAuth

What it exposes

Brand visibility scores, competitive share of voice, prompt research, crawl and agent insights, optimization action list and attribution.

Plan

Core, Pro and Enterprise

Its MCP page is a feature page: no endpoint, tool list or client setup steps.

[Goodie MCP documentation](https://higoodie.com/features/mcp/), read 2026-10-09

### LightSite

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

ChatGPT, Claude

Sign-in

Account sign-in

What it exposes

AI visibility and tracked prompts, AI crawler activity, AI referrals and conversions, page performance, competitors, recommendations; can create proposals for review.

Plan

Early access; plan not stated

Early access, with setup guided by the vendor's team.

[LightSite MCP documentation](https://www.lightsite.ai/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### LLM Pulse

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

ChatGPT / Claude / Gemini (custom connector), Cursor / Windsurf / Zed (IDE MCP settings), Headless (API key, via npx mcp-remote)

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility metrics, timeseries, share of voice, mentions, citations, sources, sentiment, prompts, responses, recommendations; writes add prompts/competitors/tags, GEO Writer, audits.

Plan

Every plan, free trial included; API-key access from Scale

[LLM Pulse MCP documentation](https://llmpulse.ai/features/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### MaxAEO

Runs as

Local

Open source

Yes, MIT: [github.com/maxaeo/maxaeo-ai-visibility-mcp](https://github.com/maxaeo/maxaeo-ai-visibility-mcp)

Setup documented for

Claude Desktop

Sign-in

None (runs locally)

What it exposes

Local public-web audits: llms.txt, AI crawler access, robots, sitemap, canonical, metadata, JSON-LD; returns a local readiness score and 7-day action plan.

Plan

Free (local package)

Runs local checks of public pages; it does not measure live AI answers.

[MaxAEO MCP documentation](https://github.com/maxaeo/maxaeo-ai-visibility-mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Otterly.AI

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude.ai, Claude Code, Claude Desktop, Cursor

Sign-in

OAuth

What it exposes

Brand reports, prompts, AI responses, citations, recommendations, agent analytics, GEO audits and query fan-outs; write tools create prompts, tags, reports, audits.

Plan

Standard and above; trial accounts get limited access for testing

[Otterly.AI MCP documentation](https://docs.otterly.ai/mcp-server), read 2026-10-09

### Peec AI

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (Desktop, Web, Code), Cursor, VS Code (GitHub Copilot), Windsurf

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Brand visibility, competitors, sources and URL content, chats, shopping, agent analytics, AI referrals, brand perception, actions; writes edit prompts, topics, tags, brands.

Plan

Starter, Pro and Enterprise

[Peec AI MCP documentation](https://docs.peec.ai/mcp/introduction), read 2026-10-09

### Profound

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Code, Claude Desktop, ChatGPT, Cursor, Gemini CLI, Microsoft Copilot Studio, OpenCode, VS Code, Windsurf, WRITER AI Studio

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility, sentiment, citation, shopping, raw data and agent analytics reports; build/run Agents, manage prompts, knowledge bases, docs and projects.

Plan

Enterprise

[Profound MCP documentation](https://docs.tryprofound.com/mcp/overview), read 2026-10-09

### RadarKit

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

ChatGPT, Claude (Claude app and web, Claude Code), Cursor, Codex, Other

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Projects, topics, prompts, visibility, responses, sources, share of voice, rankings, query fanout, sentiment, exports; writes add topics/prompts, run prompts; Content agent articles.

Plan

Lite, Growth and Pro

[RadarKit MCP documentation](https://radarkit.ai/docs/mcp/introduction), read 2026-10-09

### Rank Prompt

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Code, Cursor, Claude Desktop, Other

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility reports, brands and citations across ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Claude, Gemini, Grok; runs reports, audits pages, sets up brands and schedules.

Plan

Every plan, free included; some features need Starter or above

[Rank Prompt MCP documentation](https://rankprompt.com/mcp/), read 2026-10-09

### Rankscale

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (web and desktop), ChatGPT, Cursor and other MCP clients

Sign-in

OAuth

What it exposes

Brands, search terms, topics, runs (AI answers, cited URLs, mentioned companies), visibility, competitors, citations, sources, sentiment, shopping; optional write and credit-spending run tools.

Plan

Essentials, Pro, Pro+, Growth and Enterprise

[Rankscale MCP documentation](https://rankscale.ai/docs/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Scrunch

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, ChatGPT Dots, Codex, Perplexity, Grok, Grok Bot, Muse, Muse Code, Cursor, Devin, Antigravity, VS Code, Copilot Studio

Sign-in

OAuth

What it exposes

Presence, position, sentiment and citation metrics, responses, prompts, brand/competitor/persona configuration, agent traffic from imported crawl logs, help docs.

Plan

The vendor's pages differ

[Scrunch MCP documentation](https://developers.scrunch.com/mcp/overview), read 2026-10-09

### SE Ranking

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (Web & Desktop), Claude Code, ChatGPT, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, v0, Windsurf, Zed, Gemini CLI, Others

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Keyword research, backlinks, domain analysis, SERP, projects and rank tracking, audits, local marketing, and SE Visible AI visibility projects, brands, prompts, sources.

Plan

Every subscription, on API credits; also a pay-as-you-go API plan

[SE Ranking MCP documentation](https://seranking.com/api/integrations/mcp/), read 2026-10-09

### Searchable

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude (Claude.ai, Claude Desktop), ChatGPT, Gemini, Grok, Claude Code, Codex, Cursor, VS Code, Gemini CLI, Muse Code, Windsurf / Devin

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility, share of voice, competitors, citations, sentiment, query fanout, prompts, site audits, articles, GA4, Search Console, AI traffic, shopping, AI ads.

Plan

Paid plans (Pro, Scale and Enterprise); not Free

[Searchable MCP documentation](https://docs.searchable.com/integrations/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Semrush

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude, Claude Code, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code, Antigravity 2.0, Antigravity CLI, Perplexity, Lovable

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Trends API, SEO API and read-only Projects API data: domain, organic, keyword, competitor, backlink, audience, traffic, paid, shopping, position tracking, site audit.

Plan

Semrush One Starter and Pro+, SEO Classic Pro and Guru; other plans need an API units package

Its MCP pages list SEO, traffic and project data and do not say AI visibility data is included.

[Semrush MCP documentation](https://developer.semrush.com/api/v3/introduction/semrush-mcp/), read 2026-10-09

### Trakkr

Runs as

Hosted and local

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

ChatGPT, Claude, Microsoft Copilot, Claude desktop, Claude Code, Cursor, VS Code, Codex, Windsurf, Zed, Cline, Manual

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Visibility, citations, perception, competitors, crawlers, actions/audits, Reddit, research, content, automations, reports and exports; can act (manage actions, prompts).

Plan

Every paid plan

[Trakkr MCP documentation](https://trakkr.ai/learn/api/mcp), read 2026-10-09

### Visiblie

Runs as

Hosted

Open source

Not stated

Setup documented for

Claude Desktop, Claude.ai, Cursor IDE, Claude CLI

Sign-in

OAuth or API key

What it exposes

Brand visibility, visibility score, website audits, AI citations, competitor analysis, recommendations, integrations, brand registration.

Plan

Not stated

[Visiblie MCP documentation](https://www.visiblie.com/product/mcp), read 2026-10-09

Questions

## The things people ask us first.

### Which AI visibility tools have an MCP server?

Of the 30 AI visibility vendors whose own pages were read on 2026-10-09, 28 document a Model Context Protocol (MCP) server: Ahrefs, AIclicks, AmICited, Analyze AI, Asva AI, AthenaHQ, Ayzeo, Cituna, Cognizo, Foglift, Gauge, Geoptie, Goodie, LightSite, LLM Pulse, MaxAEO, Otterly.AI, Peec AI, Profound, RadarKit, Rank Prompt, Rankscale, Scrunch, SE Ranking, Searchable, Semrush, Trakkr and Visiblie. LLMrefs and Evertune document none on the pages read.

### What does an MCP server integration add to an AI search visibility tool?

A Model Context Protocol integration lets an AI assistant read the tool's AI search visibility tracking data, such as brand mentions, citations and share of voice, so LLM visibility and brand monitoring questions can be asked in plain language. Some servers can also start runs or write drafts; each row lists what its vendor says the server exposes.

### Which AI visibility MCP servers are open source?

Cituna (MIT), Foglift (MIT, local package only) and MaxAEO (MIT) publish their MCP server code under an open-source license. The other vendors' pages do not say their server code is open source.

### Do AI visibility MCP servers run locally or in the cloud?

23 of the 28 run only as a hosted server that an AI assistant connects to over the internet. Cituna, Foglift and Trakkr also offer a local package, and MaxAEO runs only on the user's own machine.

### Which AI assistants can connect to these MCP servers?

Claude is the client most often documented, by 27 of the 28 vendors, followed by Claude Code (21), Cursor (20) and ChatGPT (18). Each row lists the clients its vendor gives setup steps for.

### How was this comparison made?

Each row was read on the vendor's own documentation, help center, pricing page or official repository on 2026-10-09, and links the page it came from. Third-party lists were used only to find those pages. Where a vendor's own pages disagree, the row says so instead of choosing one, and prices are kept in the separate AI visibility tool pricing table.

## Limelit, the maker of this page

Limelit is listed apart, on the same terms. Its hosted MCP server runs at api.limelit.co/mcp with a personal API key, and ChatGPT connects through the Limelit app; it is free on every account, reading data is free, and tools that start runs or write drafts spend credits ([MCP documentation](https://limelit.co/mcp-docs)). Limelit Open, its self-hosted tracker, is open source under the Apache 2.0 license ([github.com/limelit-co/open](https://github.com/limelit-co/open)), is in pre-release, and serves read tools over stdio on the same machine or over HTTP with a token.
